Safety Committee Minutes

Atchison County

Safety Committee Meeting

April 28, 2023

The Atchison County Safety Committee met on Thursday, April 28, 2023 via the Zoom platform and in person.  Those members in attendance were: Mark Zeltner, Finance; Kelly Johansen, Sheriff; Debbie Thompson, Appraiser; Kim Pruett, Joint Communications; Jodi Moore, Human Resources; Eric Noll, Commissioner; Melissa Smith, Human Resources; Lindsey Wood, Atchison Senior Village; Wesley Lanter, Emergency Management/Information Technology; Emily Genail, Road & Bridge; and Kalee Vanderweide, Clerk.  

Minutes were recorded by Kalee Vanderweide.

Jodi Moore, Chairperson, called the meeting to order.


Minutes of March 16, 2023 Meeting – Melissa Smith made a motion to accept the minutes with no corrections noted.  Kim Pruett seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.  

Accident/Incident Reports:

All follow up accidents/incidents have been cleared.  


Wesley Lanter made a motion to nominate Kalee Vanderweide as the secretary of the Safety Committee, due to the vacancy left by the previous secretary.  Eric Noll and Melissa Smith seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.  

Accident/Incident Reports:

Sheriff’s office:  Employee was bit by a human.  This employee is back to work.  

There were no Safety Star or County W.A.Y. nominations.  

The budget was discussed for the Safety Committee.  The county general fund has $2,000.00 in it with nothing spent for the Safety Committee.  The safety committee fund 147 has an unencumbered balance of $65,924.38.   Discussion was had to move the $2,000.00 balance from the Safety Committee general fund to the Wellness Committee general fund.  


Discussion was held on Columbus Day training ideas.  They include: speaker to talk about leadership, general staff to another location, KPERS during leadership speaker, active shooter/ALICE training, fire extinguisher training, recognizing heat stroke or heat related emergencies.   

Discussion was held on second quarter training to do a tornado drill, third quarter training to do CPR/First Aid/AED, and fourth quarter training to have defensive driving.   

Discussion was held on creating an employee appreciation committee and to use the Safety Committee as the same people.  

Wesley Lanter and Melissa Smith volunteered to help with the facility inspections.  

Risk Avoidance Grant (RAG) was discussed, as this is a $2,000.00 reimbursement to help reduce liability for the County. 

The next meeting has been set for Thursday, May 18, 2023.  There being no further business, Wesley Lanter made a motion to adjourn the meeting.   Eric Noll seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.