Go To Search
Safety Committee Minutes


Atchison County
Safety Committee Meeting

March 16, 2017

The Atchison County Safety Committee met on Thursday, March 16th, 2017 in the County Commission Room.  Those members in attendance were: Melissa Smith, Human Resources; Steve Noyes, Community Corrections; Lydia Ackmann, EMS; and Debbie Thompson, Appraiser, Wes Lanter, EM/County IT; Seth Howard, Road & Bridge; Staci Joice, Solid Waste; Shelly Nelson, Community Corrections; Kim Pruett, Joint Communications; Jamie Madison, Human Resources; Shelley Campbell, Register of Deeds; Michelle Phillips, County Clerk; Peggy House, Senior Village; Joe Bowen, Maintenance; and Melissa Crane, Appraiser. Kalee Vanderweide, County Clerk Office; Tammy Weir, Register of Deeds, Dirk Saragusa, Sheriff Office.

Minutes were recorded by Kim Pruett, Secretary.

Seth Howard, Chairperson, called the meeting to order.


Minutes of February 16th, 2017 Meeting

Wes Lanter motioned to approve the minutes with no additions and/or corrections.  Seconded by Melissa Smith.

Follow-up Accident/Incident Reports –


Accident/Incident Reports/Near Miss Reports

Corey Scott, EMS, reported two incidents:  1) An employee was performing a blood glucose test in the Ambulance and the blood went airborne and landed on employee’s face.  2) An employee stepped off the back of the ambulance and injured her knee.

Peggy House, Senior Village, reported an incident when an employee reached for a resident to quickly and twisted their leg.

Quarterly Trainings

County Wide - AED & CPR/First Aid Training will be held at the Emergency Management Building on April 29th & 30th, spots are still available.  Contact Wes Lanter or Lydia Ackmann for more information.

A Tornado Drill has been scheduled for April 5th at 10 am, weather permitting.

Michelle Phillips and Corey Scott will be attending KERIT Supervisor’s Training on March 23rd.

Seth Howard, Corey Scott and Kalee Vanderweide will be performing facility inspections in April and May, dates to be determined.



**The next meeting has been set for Thursday, April 20th, 2017.  There being no further business Wes Lanter motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Peggy House.