Atchison County rescue service originally began with non-certified personnel, and has since grown to have medically certified personnel to respond to all rescue calls. Atchison County consists of two rescue units, one located in Atchison and the other located in Effingham. All certified personnel are required by the state to take documented and approved education to enhance and update individual skills and knowledge in the EMS field. Non-certified personnel are required to participate in monthly training sessions. All are volunteers and respond on a call basis.

Rescue Personnel

Both the Atchison and Effingham services spot and track severe weather as it happens in Atchison County. Rescue personnel receive annual training on storm spotting. 


  • Emergency Medical Technicians (EMT)
  • First Responders (FR)
  • Non-certified Rescues (R)
  • Paramedics (MICT)